Competition Tan

Posted: July 20, 2012 in #fitnesschallenge
Tags: , , , ,

20120720-165047.jpg

Out of all the hard work, sweat, dieting & preparation – you would not believe what was the worst part of training for competition, for me. In that same breath, you also wouldn’t believe what I actually loved the most about competition prep. It might sound crazy, but my favorite & least favorite thing about competition prep are the same.

Competition tan.

That’s it. I’m not joking, in the least bit. Think about it for a second…

Once you’re there, done training, ready for the show… Competition tan is the very last thing you do. That’s it. You’re done. No more training. No more weights. No more cardio. Just eating & waiting.

The very last activity on your agenda, before actually hitting the stage, is applying that tanner. Therefore, a few days out, you know you’re done.

What a great feeling, after over eight weeks of grueling, hard work.

At the same time, on the other hand, competition tanner is so uncomfortable. So sticky. So smothering. It even has a bit of a smell to it. You can’t wear any important clothes because of the tanner rubbing off. I know it sounds crazy, but it’s true. Competition tan is my least favorite part of my contest preparation.

Diet is easy. Training, I enjoy. The schedule is actually easier for me to keep up with everything.

I dread the tan. But boy do I look forward to it.

Tomorrow marks the ever-so-portably #3weeksout. We are getting close. So close I can smell that tanner.

Leave a Reply

