20120725-172244.jpg

Yesterday’s bog was written from a fan’s standpoint. Obviously. I am still a fan of wrestling. I’m not ashamed to admit it. The sports entertainment business has been in my life since I was a kid. I began my journey at age fifteen.

Today, I want to come at you from a different perspective.

Let’s look at what could have been.

#RAW1000 was different than I could have ever imagined. I knew it would be a big night. But some how, some way – I thought we would get a little more than what we did.

Sure, we got cameos from some of the greatest superstars in the history of Monday Night RAW. But you know what? We didn’t get the biggest star in RAW history. We didn’t get the guy who brought the big wrestling boom of the ’80’s. And come to think of it, we didn’t even get to see the man walk that isle, one more time. No tassels & face paint either.

It would’ve been very easy to smash a grandslam with many of the names that we grew up watching… and still have that star power.

I thought for sure we would get Stone Cold Steve Austin. I read that he had knee surgery recently. I can understand that. But how impactfull & memorable would it have been to see Austin & Bret in the same ring again?

I mentioned in yesterday’s blog that someone will always be left out. Whether on accident or not, it always happens. But how in the world did Funaki get a cameo in the “greatest catchphrases in RAW history”, yet Hurricane Helms was left out?

Not a good enough example for you?

Are you telling me that with all the time the WWE had to fill, they couldn’t show a single clip of Hulk Hogan? Don’t come at me with all the reasons concerning TNA. It’s a split-second highlight reel. No Hogan?

I thought for sure, beyond a shadow of a doubt, we would see an appearance by “The Nature Boy” Ric Flair. No-compete clause? Maybe. But since when has WWE or Ric Flair ever played by the rules? Especially, considering that Flair made history by bringing the WCW Championship (now the World Heavyweight Title) to the WWF when such a thing was unheard of!

I have a few more names that would not have been too far-fetched to appear are pretty easily identifiable. How about Dave Batista? Edge? I didn’t see Randy Orton on the show either. Goldust. Booker T. So many names could have been easily used.

I know there are logical reasons behind each and every name I have mentioned. But while we are fantasy booking, we can create any scenario we want.

Although Damian Sandow received a little notoriety by interrupting DX, you didn’t see too much made of any younger guys. Why not incorporate some of the 2nd & 3rd generation superstars with the legends?

Joe Hennig is one that certainly comes to mind. Bret Hart discussing Joe’s father being one of the greatest Intercontinental Champions of all time could have been the perfect opportunity to actually get Hennig over.

I want to hear your thoughts on what could have been.

Hey, I’ve been on RAW many, many times! They could’ve brought me back! Haha!

But in all seriousness… Mae Young’s hand made it. Where was Katie Vick??

Thanks for reading!

Comments
  1. Jim says:

    Spot on, Dustin.

Leave a Reply

