Results | Final Check-In

Posted: August 5, 2012 in NPC Tennessee State Bodybuilding Championship
Tags: , , , , ,

20120805-165151.jpg

Yesterday was the day. Yesterday marked the official & long-anticipated #1weekout. At this point, I always have a check-in with my trainer. It was a big day, to say the least.

I’m more nervous during the one week check-in than I get during the contest itself.

But why? The answer is simple.

I trust my trainer to tell me the brutal truth on what I look like & where I stand in accordance to what is expected on such a large stage. I don’t look for placement talk. I want my trainer to look me over & instill the confidence that we are going to win.

I know that a trainer should never really set that expectation, if we are too far-fetched from actually getting that result. However, knowing Del like I do & for as long as I have, I fully trust that he would wreck my dreams if it were the truth.

The check-in went very well. Not too many changes have been put into place. Other than me going into this competition with more muscle mass than before, everything is spot on.

You never know what your judges are looking for. So, we have put into place a little more cardio for the final week. We will also make slight changes to my weight training. Very slight.

During this meeting, I also learned that my trainer, Del Rios, will actually be competing. I’m looking forward to seeing him on stage with the other Super Heavyweights. This is a prime opportunity for Team Rios to make its mark on a National Qualifying Event.

This is it. A mere six days away from the opportunity to earn an accolade that will live forever in the history books of the NPC & most of all – memories for my family & me that will last forever.

Picture: Del Rios & Dustin Starr, after winning the Hub City Fitness Quest Overall Men’s Physique Championship.

Comments
  1. Jim says:

    Rooting for you, Dustin. Enjoy this week. Don’t think about it. Just do it and be the best man on stage.

Leave a Reply

