My Return to the Ring!

Posted: September 23, 2012 in Wrestling
Tags: , , , , ,

20120922-211903.jpg

It has been several months since I’ve stepped foot in a wrestling ring. Not only that, but at this point, I don’t even know where my gear is! I have been focusing so much of my time and effort in training for NPC competitions that wrestling has been put somewhat on the back-burner…

Until now.

I will make my long-anticipated return to the ring on September 28th and 29th at the Landers Center in Southaven, MS for the Mid-South Fair! This will be my first appearances since winning Hub City Fitness Quest & Tennessee State Overall Men’s Physique Championships! And let me tell you, this is the perfect fit for me to make my return!

As many of you know, I performed at every single home game for many years inside the Landers Center (then known as DeSoto Civic Center) for a professional hockey team. So, returning to that building with everyone from the staff to the fans that frequent the Southaven area – we are very familiar with one another. That makes for a very welcoming situtaion for myself. Not so much for my opponents.

Along with returning home to the Landers Center, the Mid-South Fair has always been a staple in the Mid-South area for years and years. Ever since I was a kid, I would go to the Mid-South Fair to not only ride, play games and frequent the crazy features of a carnival… but I would rally around my family to watch Memphis Wrestling, lead by Jerry “The King” Lawler!

I have photos stored away where I was under ten years old, posing with “The King” and his Championship & crown. Me and “King” go way back. He was scheduled for this event… and from what I hear, he will certainly be making an appearance. Unfortunately, he will not be wrestling.

Those of you who are wondering why this is such a big deal – well, it has been over nine months since I’ve performed in the ring. And despite what many people think, this sport is more dangerous than you could ever imagine. You never know what might happen. You never know what to expect. One wrong move could end in injury.

Point in case – here’s the last match I was a part of. As you’ll notice, I am injured towards the end.

I injured my neck pretty bad. Again, despite what many people think, this was a real life situation that was turned into a wrestling related storyline:

I won’t be getting revenge on Drew Haskins. He’s certainly still on the list. But whoever I step in the ring with on Friday and Saturday at the Landers Center… it won’t be a pretty sight for you.

(For more details on these events and tickets, go to www.landerscenter.com I look forward to seeing you all there!)

Comments
  1. Jim says:

    Go for it, Dustin! You’re a terrific performer.

  2. Wish that I was in the area – I would be there to see this. I am currently in St. Louis and will not be back in the area for a while.

  3. Stay Puft says:

    Kick ass and be safe!

  4. DrGizmore says:

    Times like this I wish I lived in Memphis so that I can go show some support!

Leave a Reply

